AAADD – Age Activated Attention Deficit Disorder

This hilarious story was sent to me earlier this week, don’t know who wrote it, but see if you can relate to any of it…if you can remember!!

Recently,  I was diagnosed with A.A.A.D.D.

Age Activated Attention Deficit  Disorder This is how it  manifests:

I  decide to water my garden. As  I turn on the hose in the driveway, I  look over at my car and decide it needs washing.

As  I start toward my car, I  notice mail on the porch table that I  had brought up from the mailbox earlier.

I decide to go  through the mail before I wash the car.

I lay my car  keys on the table, put  the junk mail in the garbage can under the table, and  notice that the can is full.

So, I decide to put the  bills back on  the table and take out the garbage first.

But  then I think, since  I’m going to be right next to the mailbox when  I take out the garbage, I  may as well pay the bills first.

I take my check  book off the table, and  see that there is only one check left.

My extra  checks are in my desk in the study, so  I go inside the house to my desk where find the can of Pepsi I’d been drinking – pleased I found it.

Now I’m  going to look for my checks, but  first I need to push the  Pepsi aside so  that I don’t accidentally knock it  over.

The Pepsi is now quite  warm, so  I decide to put it in the refrigerator to keep it  cold.

As I head toward the kitchen with the  Pepsi, a vase of flowers on the counter catches  my eye – they need water.

I put the Pepsi on the  counter and discover  my reading glasses that I’ve  been searching for all morning. Glad I have found them.

I decide I better  put them back on my desk, but  first I’m going to water the flowers.

I set the  glasses back down on the counter, fill  a container with water and suddenly spot the TV  remote. Aah, so that’s where it is, pleased I have found it.

I realize that tonight  when we go to watch TV, I’ll  be looking for the remote, but  I won’t remember that it’s on the kitchen table, so  I decide to put it back in the den where it  belongs, but  first I’ll water the flowers.

I pour some of the water in  the flowers, but  quite a bit of it spills on the floor.

So, I set the  remote back on the table, get  some towels and wipe up the spill.

Then, I head down  the hall trying to remember  what I was planning to do.

At  the end of my day:

  • the  car isn’t washed
  • the  bills aren’t paid
  • there  is a warm can of Pepsi sitting on the  counter
  • the  flowers don’t have enough water
  • there  is still only 1 check in my check book
  • I  can’t find the remote
  • I  can’t find my glasses
  • and  I don’t remember what I did with the car keys

Then,  when I try to figure out why nothing got done  today, I’m  really baffled because I know I was busy all damn  day, and  I’m also really tired.

I realize this is a serious  problem, and  I’ll try to get some help for it, but  first I’ll check my e-mail…

Do me a  favor. Let me know if I have already send this pathetic tale of my day to you, because I don’t remember who the hell I’ve sent it to.

Don’t  laugh — if this isn’t you yet, your day is coming!

Posted on January 27, 2010, in Fun, health, Useful. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

